Little Crown Inn, Pontypool – review

Steak, Mushroom and Felinfoel Ale Pie

Steak, mushroom and Felinfoel Ale pie

This might seem ageist or sexist, or both, but I think I have the taste buds of a 55 year old man. Simply because I have a tendency for foods which would be on your granddad’s dream menu – foods like fish and chips, scotch eggs, blue cheese (the smellier, the better) and… pies. I bloody love pie.

So when we went to Little Crown Inn in Pontypool on a cold February evening I welcomed its menu with open arms and an open mouth ready to stuff myself full of pie. Of course there was other pub grub to choose from (my boyfriend’s mixed grill looked amazing), but I’d been fancying pie all day. Pheasant and venison were other delicious sounding pie options, but I went for traditional steak, mushroom and Felinfoel ale and I added a boat of Stilton and port gravy for good measure.

My eat of the week

  • Steak, mushroom and Felinfoel Ale pie – £10.99
  • Stilton and port sauce – £2.50

Leave a comment